View Full Version : side affects of daytana

michelle p
06-06-08, 04:30 PM
this is my first time posting on this forum. my 16 yr old son was just diagnosed with adhd 2 months ago. the dr. has him on a 20mg. daytrana patch. he's doing SO much better in school now...but he's having some bad mood swings. i've told his dr. about his anger issues, and he told my son that he has to learn to manage his anger. he told him to remove himself from the situation, and write down whatever is making him angry...and just throw it away. the dr. doesn't want to switch his medication right away because he's doing so well in school. when my son was calm he told me that he holds his emotions in all day while he's at school...and by the time he gets home it's like he's ready to explode. he's always been moody, but now he scares me because it's so explosive. has anybody had this type of side afect?

netsavy006
06-06-08, 04:55 PM
That sounds like the rebound that happens as the medication clears the system. What to do about it I'm not sure, but I don't think it's too uncommon.

michelle p
06-06-08, 05:04 PM
the dr. was talking about upping the dosage, but i was a little worried about how it would affect him. maybe having more in his system would help. he also has been having a hard time getting to sleep. i gave him a unisom last night, that seemed to work...i guess i'll find out when he gets home. the dr. mentioned buying him some meletonin for sleep, i'll try that too. i just worry about all this medication.

wifeandmom
06-07-08, 09:34 AM
Michelle,

The problems with mood could be dose related. We made the mistake of increasing the dose when DD used Daytrana. She eventually turned into a big ol' hot mess of erratic moods, excessive drowsiness, lethargy, etc. Maybe you should lower the dose instead. When DD used Daytrana, the long-term absorption rates weren't yet identified. After about 6 weeks of chronic use, the absorption rate increases 1.9 fold: