View Full Version : I have no insurance:( any help?

No Insurance
09-02-08, 06:21 PM
Hi!

I am an independent contractor (work for myself) so therefor I can not afford health insurance. I have Adult ADD and was seeing a Dr but then he moved, so now I have to start all over. It's a real bummer because, I take concerta, probably about 2 times a week just to keep me on track, and since I didn't need it all of the time and he understood that I didn't have insurance, he would write me a subscription for 3 months so that I wouldn't have to pay for a visit everytime I needed a perscription. Now I have to find a new Doctor and the same office that he was working in says that I need to pay $300 just to switch doctors and have another "initial" consultation! That's alot of cash for me, so I was wondering if anyone knew of any Doctors with a sliding scale or at least cheaper visits. I live in Ocean Beach (San Diego) CA. Your help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

ps also, does anyone know if there is a generic version of Concerta, because it's really expensive

ecu20
09-02-08, 10:39 PM
Hi!

I am an independent contractor (work for myself) so therefor I can not afford health insurance. I have Adult ADD and was seeing a Dr but then he moved, so now I have to start all over. It's a real bummer because, I take concerta, probably about 2 times a week just to keep me on track, and since I didn't need it all of the time and he understood that I didn't have insurance, he would write me a subscription for 3 months so that I wouldn't have to pay for a visit everytime I needed a perscription. Now I have to find a new Doctor and the same office that he was working in says that I need to pay $300 just to switch doctors and have another "initial" consultation! That's alot of cash for me, so I was wondering if anyone knew of any Doctors with a sliding scale or at least cheaper visits. I live in Ocean Beach (San Diego) CA. Your help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!