View Full Version : my struggle with possible ADD. . . . ?

music3000
09-17-08, 05:30 PM
I`m sorry but I didn't know where exactly to put this post so here goes...

I always thought that I was different from everybody while I was in school and I think part of that is right. My older brother was diagnosed with ADD when he was a kid and while asking him about it he told me that I too have it. I'm an 18 year old girl and I do know that it often goes unnoticed in girls. In elementary school, one of my teachers suggested that I be evaluated for ADD but my mom never took it seriously. I wasn't even aware of this until my brother told me. I had always suspected that I may have ADD but I never really looked into it. I was a pretty okay student all the way through elementary and middle schools and I did especially bad in middle school and it was hard for me to catch certain aspects like math. School was never really a challenge for me.I always felt like I was ahead and I could catch concepts just like that. My teachers would always say that I never fulfilled my full potential in school and I don't know why I just couldn't do it. Everything changed for me when I got to be in 11th grade. I couldn't grasp anything that was being taught honestly. I almost failed that year. The supposedly easiest concepts I would lack behind because I didnt really understand it. I had a lot of advanced classes that I could handle but it was almost like reading a different language when I read. While everyone could focus I couldn't especially when I read. It was so weird because I can literally read a novel for 12 hours straight but I can't read pass 3 pages in my textbook without getting frustrated because I couldn't retain what I read. All my life, my room was a mess, notebook, bookbag, I just felt my whole life was in disarray. My mom would ask me to do something and it would go undone. She would often call me lazy, sloppy, unmotivated, etc. When I did try to clean my room it would take HOURS!!