View Full Version : Recovering Addict, 2nd week on Vyvanse, and depressed.. and advice?

lovesburberry
12-14-08, 12:59 AM
So I posted a little bit about my side effects on the Vyvanse thread before I knew this one existed cause I'm new, so here's my deal...
I'm in recovery from drugs (and alcohol, but was a very serious opiate/cocaine addict) and just started taking Vyvanse. I have a very solid foundation in my recovery, and have been sober for over 18 months. I attend AA, weekly therapy, close to my sponsor, family support, psychiatrist, so on and so forth.
My therapist and I thought my ADD has been getting the best of me lately, especially at work, but at school too (full time college student, and work approx 20 hrs a week), and thought the time was right for me to start a medication. This is my first time ever being treated for my ADD, and I'm 23 years old.
The first day was a smack in the face, I was overwhelmed by the 30 mg and felt similar to when I had taken adderal in the past, but not quite the same. Got a lot of school work done that night. Next few days were fine, then all of a sudden the side effects kicked in.
I'm on 30 mg/day and as of the past few days feel minimal positive effects (I'm coming up on 2 weeks on the medication in a couple days). The crashes progressively came sooner in the day, and today I felt nothing but a headache after I took the meds, and I have been really depressed the past couple days. I don't feel like myself.
I'm not eating much at all, lost about 6 pounds, but that's not a bad thing. But I think it's making me feel a little weak. I'm also having a lot of joint pain with the end of the day headaches.