View Full Version : Ditched by B.S.U

87Iroc_z
01-09-09, 01:15 PM
I am 42 y/o male and was dx'd with ADHD 3 years ago. My elementary and jr. high school years were awful. I could see there was little chance of success in high school so I dropped out. Finally to meet a requirement for probation, I got my GED. Thru the rest of the years, I struggled, but managed to become a EMT/paramedic and currently, I'm a licensed practical nurse for the last 18 years or so.
Three years ago, after my dx of ADHD, I decided I need to go further to a bachelors degree R.N.. I spent time stuggeling thru the god awful prerequsites not an honor student, nut I got the required grades. Last January, I applied to Ball State school of nursing and was accepted for the summer term. Because of my financial situation, the start of the summer semester, I was without meds frequently, but I managed to hang on until I got med assistance.
My preference was to keep a low profile and not make a big fuss about this, but was urged to register with disability services after the first week or so. This first week or so was fine with a certain instructor until it was revealed I had a dx of ADHD. From there it was all down hill. This instuctor was constantly ridiculing me and made it obvious she was out to get me. Part of her class was practical skills which I was skilled in or was knowledgeable of, and we were to demonstrate them for her. Every single time, I was placed under extreme pressure and confused by this instructor until finally she got me out of the program. I was told I could re-enter for the fall term provided I submit a letter to the admissions and progression committee stating why I failed and give a plan of correction. I took all the blame myself and never mentioned how badly I was treated. My re-entry request was denied until I submit proof that I:
1). Get a hearing Evaluation (which I have done and found I need a hearing aid and no extra money for this).