View Full Version : Why do people say we *don't* have the right to different meds?

simonekf
01-10-09, 05:52 AM
My psychiatrist recently changed his practice, and now he can only see students. I have to find a new doctor, and the few he recommended are all full.

People keep saying to a questioner below, that we don't have the right to try different meds.

Is that the way doctors are going to act?

Because, if so, I am going to be ****ed. I have a PhD in the sciences, and my doctor and I set up trials of different drugs (adderall, dexedrine, concerta, etc.) over time. He didn't have me stop when one drug started working. We did trials of different ones at different dosages and then iterated back toward the one that seemed the best. How can you tell what's best if you stop at one drug?

I did not understand the lazy asinine mentality of my previous doctor before him who seemed to think if something made me feel a bit better, then we were done.

I have not tried desoxyn and might be interested in trying it - since when we did our experiments, it wasn't really talked about or used much for ADHD.

But basically right now, I am quite concerned that I am going to get some doctor who thinks he knows more about my condition than I do. I've spent 15 years on this, and he'll spend 30 minutes with me.

The general answers below to the person asking about medicine choices were: your doctor knows more than you do.

I dont' believe this to be the case, although I realize I have to give the doctor that impression or he/she will be less helfpul. But honestly, I've read as much scientific literature on ADHD as most doctors have (unless they only treat ADHD and that's not likely around here). So now I am quite concerned that when I walk in and ask for what I take right now, they might not even agree to give me that. I am not planning ot mention desoxyn for at least 6 months, so that the doctor will know that I am not craving some meth high.