View Full Version : New Bipolar =rapid cycling after AD?

mattsmom
02-12-09, 09:41 PM
:eek:Help! Son is on .5 risperdal and was added 10 Paxil for anxiety. In less than 1 week he was "manic" (I'm new to all this, so forgive me as I learn the terms.) So pdoc decided he is likely bipolar and needed to stop the Paxil. We did stop cold turkey as after just 6 days on, shouldnt have been a problem. However, almost immediately after stopping, we're seeing rages, crying, (never seen these before), more intense aggression, agitation etc. that only seems to be worsening. Have been off of the Paxil for 6 days now. Has the mania reversed into depression? The agitation is all day, with an occasional laugh fest lasting 2-5 minutes thrown in once per day. Is this "cycling"? How do we stop it? He's still on the risperdal, and doc added 250 depakote when we stopped the Paxil 6 days ago.

Any, and all thoughts are welcome.

I did call pdoc yesterday, and again today, but no return call! Is he afraid I'm going to sue?:(

neon600
02-24-09, 10:17 AM
Wish I could be helpful, but I too am dealing with the same type of situation, massive hyperactivity, angry aggressive behavior, last night was a crying bout, no reason why, but couldnt stop herself, she's 12 and on 1.75 mg risperdal, .50 zoloft and now 150 mg trileptal. What a "roller coaster" ride everyday has been. At least when she's "hyper" she's happy. But of course, the down side comes and its been mostly the anger and aggression, as I said, last night was the first bout of uncontrollable crying.
My thoughts are with you and I hope all goes well.

netsavy006
02-24-09, 01:46 PM
The way you are expressing it, it sounds like it could be some form of either cycling or withdrawal from the paxil. I'd get in contact with the doctor and see what the doctor suggests.

KFC in CA
02-24-09, 01:59 PM
Keep calling the doctor, even if it feels like harassment. Also, look for a peds psychiatrist if you don't already have one.