View Full Version : Anyone have worsened insomnia on Depakote? HELP!

mydsrtsky
03-02-09, 02:29 PM
Greetings!

As a newbie I appreciate this board and any suggestions.

Recently diagnosed with Bipolar ll and have known to have ADHD for a few years now.

Problem is the ADHD meds were all inciting hypomanic sxs...especially irritability and worsened sleep.

Mood stabilizers made my ADHD sxs (crappy memory, scatterbrained, poor concentration, difficulty multi tasking, and spaced out) worse. (so far a week on lithium, tried lamical-felt happier and calm but hair fell out and memory seemed worse), trilepatal for a few days felt too darned spaced out), abilify a few days-felt wierd and tired, now depakote)

I have tried these meds only a short time though and told the Dr...Hey how about first get on a mood stabilization and then add the ADHD meds. Novel idea, right? So now am day 3 on 250 mg of Depakote and my sleep is the worse it's been. Taking regular 1 mg of ativan for sleep and am exhausted.

Any suggestions on any of this? I am unemployed now and want to get my cognitive abilities improved....thanks all (sorry for the tangentiality...another problem)

Mydsrtsky
Carpe Dium

KFC in CA
03-02-09, 02:42 PM
You are probably on too low of a dose to be addressing bipolar symptoms. Your bp symptoms may also be picking up. It's unlikely that Dep is increasing your insomnia. As mono therapy, I think (big qualified statement) typical dosing is 1000-2000mg. (Actually, Depakote dosing is based on efficacy within a serum level range sort of like Lithium.) I know that I did not get anything from it until 750mg, and more so at 1000mg and that was on 900mg of Lithium and Lamictal as well as a low dose of Seroquel.

Yes, you were on the meds you mentioned too little time to tell efficacy. Lithium, for example, takes a couple weeks after you are in the therapeutic window to have much effect. One week on it isn't apt to do much.