View Full Version : Is it bad for your health?

davito
03-26-09, 08:26 PM
Do you guys know if sleep deprivation is bad for your health or heart?

I am asking this because I am about to finish my bachelor and I want to get into medical school, but I need to improve on my GPA. Before, I wanted to give up my dream and go to grad school. But, some people encourage me to try harder. If I try harder that means I will have to sleep very little every day like 5 hours or less or even none some days and be dependable from higher dosage of stimulants, caffeine and all nighter. That would increase stress, mental issues, and heart complications I believe.

What you guys think? Have you guys done somthing similar during school? have you had any health complication due to this?

Thanks!!

Tylerlee17
03-26-09, 09:02 PM
I do that junk now, yeah it sucks i'm constantly exhausted and stuff. Bad thing about it is i'm doing that and im only an undergrad though i'm close to getting my first degree. Anyway I look at it like this, college is probably the most intensive time in your life in terms of demand on your part (assuming you work full time also), so worry about the easier life later on, and the long term effects - deal with the hard crap now. That attitudes served me well for quite a few years.

stillfightin
03-26-09, 09:05 PM
Do you guys know if sleep deprivation is bad for your health or heart?

I am asking this because I am about to finish my bachelor and I want to get into medical school, but I need to improve on my GPA. Before, I wanted to give up my dream and go to grad school. But, some people encourage me to try harder. If I try harder that means I will have to sleep very little every day like 5 hours or less or even none some days and be dependable from higher dosage of stimulants, caffeine and all nighter. That would increase stress, mental issues, and heart complications I believe.