View Full Version : How to tell someone you like that you have ADD

Dianag54
04-02-09, 03:48 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to this, and I have never been part of a forum community - so I don't know if I am doing this right. I actually posted the same note somewhere else, but I was hoping to get more exposure and if anyone had any suggestions on how to solve my problem, they'd respond to this posting.

I have had a recent issue that I am struggling a lot with internally and have been searching on google, asking my parents, friends, etc...on how to solve it and nothing seems to be working. I have found nothing on google that can help me in my situation.

I have been diagnosed with ADD and other learning disabilities since I was 5 years old, I also take ritalin for school, and I am now in college studying business.

There's this guy that I knew since high school, I always thought he was very cute but we didn't really talk much at all (he's a grade higher than me). One day we met up again and we decided to go a coffee. We have gone out a few times since then, and I really am starting to like him. And so far, it seems like he likes me too. He's really bright, and you can tell his thought processing speed is very fast form the way he speaks and the wit that he has.

While this makes me very happy and is one of many things that I like about him, it intimidates me as well because i feel a little insecure that maybe he won't understand me if I tell him that I have ADD. I want to tell him, but I don't know what he knows about ADD (he might think negatively about it, or may have read some stuff about it that was untrue, etc...)