View Full Version : Finding a QUALITY psychiatrist? (in San Francisco)

psychinsf
04-14-09, 02:13 AM
Hello,

I live in San Francisco, California. I have a psychiatrist, but he isn't very good. I feel as though I am doing all the work (researching medications, supplements, side effects, tolerance, etc.) while he just signs the prescription (for whatever I propose).

I am learning more and more about my ADHD, OCD, and depression. I think it is very important that I continue to educate myself about my conditions or disorders and the biological and chemical mechanisms occurring with regards to my symptoms and the pharmacological treatment.

However, I am far from an expert, and it angers me that I had to decline so badly before finding an effective medication (despite having sought regular and various psychological and psychiatric help for about 6 or 7 years).

I just know that there are pharmacological stones still to be turned in my situation.

Since psychiatrists here seem pretty booked, I feel as though the handful from the list of providers are just not that great. Should I try to find a leading expert in my conditions in the area (perhaps someone who practices and does research) and be pushy to get an appointment, or perhaps pay out of pocket for a consultation?

Unfortunately, in finding my psychiatrist, I must have called about 50 other psychiatrists in the area, and only gotten responses from a handful. Psychiatrists here seem to be pretty booked.

How do I go about finding better care and treatment? Or do I have to figure this all out myself and just ask my puppet p-doc to sign the Rx? My primary care physician is pretty ignorant about mental health care.

I currently take Wellbutrin and Adderall IR.

muldoon
04-14-09, 03:24 AM