View Full Version : Topamax - cognitive impairment?

vague107
04-20-09, 07:49 PM
I was recently prescribed topamax for reoccurring migraines, but the cognitive impairment and memory loss side effect is something that I just absolutely cannot have. Besides, I already take vyvanse to help me in that area...so its not like its perfect in the first place. I'm also a serious college student with big goals for grad school - I can't afford to have *any* "psychomotor slowing" if you know what I mean...

So I'd lke to hear from anyone who takes/took it if they experienced this, and what dose? I'm supposed to start with a very low dose (25mg) and up to 50mg but I'm still scared for the reasons I listed above...

Thanks!

vague107
04-22-09, 10:16 PM
no one? :(

fxfake
04-23-09, 04:41 PM
I got those effects from Topamax. The problem was that I did not realize it. The slow titration up to 75mg masked the evil effects. A few months after I stopped, I decided to try it again, at 75mg a day (instead of 15...30... etc.). The cognitive impairment was obvious.

I would say to skip the titration, but that's something you should discuss with your doctor.

vague107
04-24-09, 11:03 PM
Thanks...I think I may wait to try it though. Final exams are coming up. I can't afford to be messing around with something that could potentially cause cognitive impairment... :(

sweetlorired
04-26-09, 10:50 PM
I also take Topamax every day for Migraine prevention. My dose is 100 mg twice a day. Topamax should always be titrated up when starting. I also suffered from some "cognitive impairment" as I started the Topamax. However, as I got used to taking it and as the dose was titrated up properly, I found that my "cognitive impairment" improved and completely disappeared!! Keep in mind though, that everyone may respond to medications differently.

vague107
04-29-09, 07:59 PM