View Full Version : Contagious Tic's

esmarii
05-12-09, 05:31 PM
I've been thinking about my tic's quite a lot lately. I can disguise them quite well and have done for years but every now and then they can become extreme and i become totally aware of it.

Throughout my life some people I know have commented on my tics and I think that's great! Most people however don't say anything and thats fine too. I guess it would be uncomfortable for someone to ask about it incase they think they may offend me.

Point is... ...I know I do it, and although it bothered me as a child, there are times I just cant control it which I just accept!

To Note : My tics generally consist of me clearing my throat (coughing,grunting or moaning), sniffling or squinting and sometimes a little bit of swallowing.

As a software developer I tend to spend a lot of time, maybe days, working closely alongside any one of my colleagues. What I find both rather funny and disturbing is how after sitting with some people after a period of hours they start to imitate my tics.

This isnt just at work, throughout my life I've met people who while with them have started to immitate my tics.

I know its some kind of psychological reaction to me doing it and find it funny they are doing it but also dont want them to feel guilty in any way.

What I'm intrested in knowing is if any of you guys have experienced this, your stories and your thoughts

zarazz
05-12-09, 07:15 PM
I have heard of people with a tic disorder having their tics flare up when they see someone else preforming a tic. But this, assuming they aren't consciously doing it for whatever reason, is just funny. I guess tics can maybe work like an accent. If someone is around someone speaking with an accent, eventually the person will start to talk with the accent without even knowing it.

TygerSan
05-14-09, 06:31 PM
:)