View Full Version : Any ADD teachers out there?

kabuki
07-14-09, 07:07 PM
I'd like to hear from you if you teach, and how ADD is affecting you in your career...good and bad.

peripatetic
07-15-09, 01:00 AM
hi kabuki,

i'm a professor (philosophy); does that count? i suspect you may be more interested in hearing from those teaching primary or secondary school--the challenges would likely be quite different than college/university instruction--so i'll keep it brief:

positive: i give a pretty compelling lecture; i am a solid writer; i can think the hell out of a thing; i can break down, analyse, and reconstruct conceptual architecture like it's my job--actually, it is my job.

negative: grading, especially poorly-written essays, kills me; faculty meetings are hell; i tend to lose things, like student essays...; i'm rarely punctual (but always within 10 minutes).

overall: students love me, so long as i don't lose their work; colleagues enjoy me and respect my ideas, but they can get frustrated in meetings and such; the university registrar is my arch-nemesis.

cheers

Peterr
07-15-09, 02:59 AM
I'm a lecturer at a university. Nice to meet you, peripatetic :)

Like peri, I'm good at giving lectures, I am analytical, I see the big lines. I like to interact with students.

I am bad at organization. And in fact, an important part of education is to organize things in a correct way. Being in time, having the lessons prepared, being clear to the students, reading students' work in time, putting the grades in our computer system etc. - I make a lot of mistakes in this field.

katewithadd1234
07-15-09, 11:30 PM
Hello!