View Full Version : is 5 months too soon to be taking 40 mg a day?

Michelle87
08-12-09, 09:26 PM
I started taking 10 mg of adderall ir a day 5 months ago and now am up to 30 mg a day. I used to split the 30 mg pill in half and take 15 mg in the morning and the other 15 mg a few hours later, but I just couldn't feel it working anymore. So lately I have been taking the 30 mg all at once and crash in the middle of the day. I tried dividing it up but the pill is so small and just ends up in tiny pieces.

I am a college student so I don't want him to get suspicious.... but the fall semester is starting soon and I'm worried 30 mg won't last me through the day. 40 would be easier because I could just take two 20 mg pills throughout the day instead of cutting up the 30s. Is it too soon to ask my doctor to up my dosage to 40 mg a day after only 5 months?

Childe Roland
08-13-09, 11:40 AM
I started taking 10 mg of adderall ir a day 5 months ago and now am up to 30 mg a day. I used to split the 30 mg pill in half and take 15 mg in the morning and the other 15 mg a few hours later, but I just couldn't feel it working anymore. So lately I have been taking the 30 mg all at once and crash in the middle of the day. I tried dividing it up but the pill is so small and just ends up in tiny pieces.

I am a college student so I don't want him to get suspicious.... but the fall semester is starting soon and I'm worried 30 mg won't last me through the day. 40 would be easier because I could just take two 20 mg pills throughout the day instead of cutting up the 30s. Is it too soon to ask my doctor to up my dosage to 40 mg a day after only 5 months?

It's common to be titrated (slowly brought) up to the dose that works best for you. I believe 40mg is a fairly common dose for an adult. Two 20 mg pills taken 4 hours apart would probably get you 8 hours of good focus -- and then maybe 2 more hours of so-so focus.