View Full Version : How to eat while I am on medications?

Fima
09-08-09, 03:22 PM
when I use ritalin, no matter how much I ate before I took it, after 2 hours or less I feel strong pain's in my stomach(cry for food), I walk toward food source and then I feel like I want to eat it, but when I put food in my mouth I get disgust, so I have to make my self to eat, and after 1 meal I allmost vomit 10 times:(, and that's not a good fealing...
I tried not to eat while on ritalin but my stomach hurts so much that I can't contrate+I am underweight so I have to eat...

hihowareyou
09-09-09, 05:57 PM
I'm not a doctor obviously, but try taking a multivitamin at night, they tend to make me hungry during the day for some reason.. worth a shot?

mytheory
11-20-09, 02:33 PM
Well I wouldn't consider myself an expert on the subject but have pretty extensive experience with this very problem. i'm 6'2 male and right now weigh a pathetic 153 pounds. I've been into weight training for years so I expect that my weight is going to be higher everytime I step on the scale. If I had to guess my body fat I would say 5%. i'm not at a real low or anything, it's kinda always been like this, but i've also kinda always been on meds either dexadrine (I used to take 30mgs xr when I was 13-14) or adderall (now taking 20mg ir).

So you are probably thinking wow thats a lot of text and he hasn't even said anything yet, well ok here goes.
Eating well and being medicated is very hard for some people, I am one of those people. Over the years I have found various ways to cope with it.

1) Take your time with your food. On speed you kinda just want to "get everything done now" but with food you really can't. especially if you mouth is dry. Focus on going bite by bite. It doesn't matter if it takes you an hour to eat a sandwhich, it's more important that you eat it. Chew a lot.