View Full Version : How to avoid dose escalation?

SiliconValley
09-20-09, 12:27 PM
Two years ago, as an adult, I was finally diagnosed with ADHD (It had previously been misdiagnosed as a mood disorder), and since then I have been on stimulant meds - first dexedrine, and now Adderall XR (20mg) for about a year.

The meds have certainly transformed my life - I went from being a lost college dropout to making 6 figures as an engineer - all self taught. I'm also now only normally messy, as opposed to before, when my living environment likely would have been condemned by the department of health.

But the problem is this: these medications feel too good, I have quite an addictive personality, and not once in these two years have I been able to make a 30 day prescription last more than 20. And the issue is definitely not that I need a higher dose - the 20mg I am prescribed definitely does the job in terms of therapeutic effect.

Now, I haven't ever seriously "gotten into trouble" with the stuff... each month, I run out, and have a useless and unfocused 1 - 2 weeks (I'm sure the sudden withdrawal makes these times worse than I would be otherwise without medication.) I don't think I'm actually addicted, because I don't attempt to find another source of stimulants when I run out - I just wait for the next prescription.

I'm wondering if any of you guys have dealt with this issue and can recommend some strategies for using stimulants responsibly. I have tried Strattera in the past and had a very bad reaction, so switching to that is not an option. But I am curious about Vyvanse - is it actually less addictive than Adderall XR? Or is that just a marketing claim?

Thanks for any help... I am well aware that what I've been doing is not particularly good for brain or heart, and I don't feel comfortable talking to my Dr about it because I'm worried he'll refuse to continue treating me.

:)

SV

chartreuse
09-20-09, 02:21 PM
I think more information might be helpful.