View Full Version : Lunesta as tonic for stimulant-induced insomnia

Childe Roland
10-30-09, 10:39 AM
Stimulants sometimes cause havoc on my sleep cycle, so my shrink kindly prescribed Lunesta. It seems to work like a charm. Although, I suspect that beginning and ending the day with perscription pills could be hard on the body over the long-term. Maybe not. They're persribed "as needed." Do any of you have experience taking these things over the long term?

APSJ
10-30-09, 11:43 AM
I've had severe insomnia for as long as I can remember. For over fifteen years, I've been taking stimulants (methylphenidate), and one sleeping medication or another. I'm not a doctor, but I don't see how there's anything inherently harmful about taking pills day and night, what matters is what's in the pills, and from what I've heard, Lunesta is relatively innocuous for most people.

I had issues with Ambien and Sonata, which are related to Lunesta, which precluded me from taking it, but until I did, I remember them working pretty well.

The Absent Mind
10-30-09, 01:30 PM
I have had insomnia for over a decade too, long before I took any stim meds. I have used diphenhydramine for sleep for years and seem alright. I have had blood work and cardiogram done recently and all is well.

Personally, I do not think it is the medicine that is potentially harmful in this case really but rather the habit. These types of sleepy meds aren't physically addictive but they can certainly be psycologically addictive. That's what one needs to be aware of.

trishcan
10-30-09, 03:12 PM
I think the biggest concern doctors and patients have about taking sleep aids for longer than a couple weeks is that it often causes dependency and "rebound insomnia" when a patient stops taking the meds.