View Full Version : Any Vegans on the Board?

Song of Mercy
12-07-09, 10:03 AM
Hi all,

I have been toying with being a Vegan for 7 or 8 years. I have waffled all over the place with this. I am finally getting going on my diet of choice and just wondered if anyone else on the board was a vegan?

Song

Veighen
12-07-09, 05:18 PM
Hey! I am vegan! yay vegans!

I've been vegan for about 6 months now... so of course that means... no animal meats, no cheese, no milk, no butter, no eggs, no fish, no honey, nothing that has or comes from animals at all.... wool... gelatin...white sugar... (usually strained through animal bone filter)

the list goes on... anyways before you begin to feel overwhelmed.. ask yourself why you have decided to become vegan.

If it is very important to you... (for me I cant consciously eat/buy anything that comes from animals because of the amount of documentaries I've watched regarding factory farms, animal cruelty/abuse, un-natural hormones, genetic modification, recycled animals parts being fed back to other animals....)

I really dont want to get into another dispute over if humans are meant to eat meat or not.. so if anyone that reads this.. and is feeling especially combative... I'm really not interested in defending the issue.. so save your breath please. (I've had too many debates/arguments over the issue already)

Anyways, I personally dont believe that animal meats are essential to maintaining a "proper" diet/health in fact all vegetables and fruits contain proteins.. kale for example is a highly nutritious vegetable and is about 46 percent protein.

The myths surrounding animal protein are endless... animal meat as well as milk are multi billion dollar industries.The fact that animals can be factory farmed quickly, easily, and cruelly to our dinner plates is the fastest easiest and most overlooked part of how these companies making easy money... at the cost of our health.