View Full Version : How do I know if I'm depressed?

MusikGeliebter
01-31-10, 10:42 PM
How do I know if I am depressed or simply dealing with a normal reaction to all of the stressful things that have happened in my life in the past 6 months? Isn't depression a normal reaction to stress, in that case, should I treat it or simply try really hard not to be depressed?

Let me tell you a little about my situation:

I am newly divorced. My ex-husband was an alcoholic who I had a co-dependent relationship with for 8 years. I am also in the beginning stages of a long-distance relationship with a wonderful man (or at least it seems like he's wonderful) and we have gotten really serious really fast. I graduated last May and began an entirely new career about 5 months ago and I still feel completely lost on a daily basis. Financially I am barely keeping my head above water. I've lost interest in many of the things I used to enjoy doing, about 95%. I've become hyper-focused on my anxieties, either concerning my new relationship or my career.

I just want to be myself again. I used to be so happy, optimistic and brave especially in the face of setbacks and limitations. But, not now. And I know that, where I am right now, I'm having a hard time seeing things clearly.

help? if you were me, what would you do?

would you go see a psychiatrist? would you start exercising and try to simplify your life? what would you do?

peripatetic
01-31-10, 11:54 PM
greetings,

can you go to a therapist for guidance? i think exercising, getting enough sleep and proper diet are all great, but may not be enough in the face of depression. then again, you've gone through some significant changes and i think some response is to be expected.

since you feel like you aren't your usual self, and are losing interest in activities you used to enjoy, i do think you should talk to someone--maybe that person can offer some suggestions or a referral as needed.

best wishes:)

EshkaronsEngine
02-01-10, 01:38 AM