View Full Version : Cool Research on Omega III's and kids

Scattered
02-04-10, 06:48 PM
ADDitude Magazine had some very cool research on Omega III's and kids. One study out of Sweden showed that 50% of the kids of Omega III's improved at the six month mark. Another study showed that kids improved in reading, spelling, and behavior when they took Omega III's.

I know from personal experience that it helps my daughter and me, but it's nice to see research backing that up.:D

MuscleMama
02-05-10, 09:23 AM
I've been giving my son fish oil every morning for a few years and he was diagnosed with ADHD a year ago. Could it have helped and made it less severe than it might have been otherwise? Honestly I have no way of knowing. Based on what I've read about the health benefits of fish oil I think everyone should take it daily.

Lunacie
02-05-10, 10:03 AM
Do you have a link to that article? I read an article awhile back about research in Australia on the affects of a combination of Fish Oil and Evening Primrose Oil. I'd be quite interested in reading of more research that shows a similar result.

I started taking Omega 3 (fish oil) about 7 years ago and have been very pleased with the results. However, when we tried my oldest granddaughter on it, it didn't seem to have any benefit for her at all. She has severe ADHD while I have predominately Inattentive ADHD. Don't know if that explains the difference in results?

Lady Lark
02-05-10, 11:17 AM
We saw some slight improvements, but once he threw up on the kitchen floor in the morning he stopped taking it. The minimal gains weren't worth that. :p

MuscleMama
02-05-10, 11:44 AM
We saw some slight improvements, but once he threw up on the kitchen floor in the morning he stopped taking it. The minimal gains weren't worth that. :p