View Full Version : Questions re: Xanax XR (Alprazolam)

cbnj
02-28-10, 12:47 PM
Hi All -- I posted a bit about my story in the new member thread. Anyhow, 37-year old male, recently unemployed and far along the fertility path (with my wife); have had life-long anxiety, likely GAD, but recently the anxiety has been overwhelming at times. I've had periods like this in the past, but have opted to just ride the wave and exercised as much as I could.

This go round, I decided that medication, plus healthy lifestyle choices, would be best. Anyhow, 2-weeks ago, my MD prescribed xanax and I've been taking 1 to 2 (0.5MG) tablets daily. The meds have definitely been calming. I've progressively started to feel a bit more sluggish however. Additionally, I went to see a Psychiatrist on Saturday to see if xanax was best and/or a SSRI (thought this would be the Psych's first choice), SNRI, Psychostimulant, etc. I'm new to all of this, but have done a bunch of research over the past 2-weeks; surprised that practitioners would prescribe xanax without much discussion about side effects. Anyhow, co-existing conditions aside (ADD believed to be moderate), I'm curious what folks experience with xanax has been and if taking 2MG of xanax xr at night, before bed, is a reasonable script? As I mentioned, I'm starting to feel a bit sluggish on just .25mg to .50mg of simply xanax.

Thoughts?

netsavy006
02-28-10, 03:45 PM
Xanax XR dose @ night would best equal the total daily dose. For example if you take .5mg twice a day then you would switch to Xanax XR 1mg.

I don't think it's unreasonable to switch from regular Xanax to Xanax XR. It might relieve some of the sluggishness and it will last the full day so you will only have to take medicine at night.

KY_Flanugget
03-01-10, 01:55 AM