View Full Version : Do we need to increase the meds?

jmkirchner
03-01-10, 02:09 AM
My son 6 yrs old has been on concerta for about 8 months now. Started him at 18 mg and after 2 weeks we saw no change at all. So doc increased his dosage to 27 mg and it has worked amazing up until just recently. He is suddenly fighting with me to do his homework and has been struggling in school again. His poor sisters get so upset that he constantly pesters them. I have noticed the tention in everyone in our household because he never quits. His last apt last month I told his doc but he doesn't really want to up his meds if he doesn't absolutly have to because we have been having a problem with weightloss. My son started at 45 lbs 8 months ago and is now at 43lbs. Recently though he eats everything in sight and I can only assume this is because his med don't seem to be working anymore. I'm going to take him in this week again and insist we at least try increasing the meds. This is my first time dealing with possibily needing his meds increased so was just wondering if this all seems normal and if anyone else is having weightloss issues with concerta.

JenE
03-01-10, 10:13 AM
could be a growth spurt that's causing the appetite increase which could also indicate a med adjustment may be needed. We don't always see the growth because we look at them all the time. Make sure they check his weight and height when you go.

Keep us posted!

mom_jud
03-01-10, 11:42 AM
Could it be rebound because his meds have worn off, my son eats everything in sight after his meds have worn off

jmkirchner
03-01-10, 12:36 PM