View Full Version : Tech Question: Blocking Internet

Yaaziel
03-08-10, 12:14 PM
Hi,

I work at home, and I've been trying to figure out how to limit distractions, and I recently came up the idea of creating a new user account on my PC that blocks access to everything but Microsoft Word (I'm a writer).

The problem is, it still seems to let IE8 work. I'm trying to figure out a way to block all Internet access for the special user account that I use for writing. I've tried the Windows Live parentla control thing, but it has been very buggy/won't let me log in. Is there an IE8 setting that I could do, or some other setting to cut the wires for one user, but not the main account?

Betelgeuse
03-08-10, 12:40 PM
Before all of this make sure your account is an Administrator. Then change it to a limited account with your other "Administrator" account after this is all done so that you can't change it back ;)

(1) Now Open Internet Explorer. Sorry, but this can only be done via IE... it will not work in firefox, opera, safari, etc.

(2) Go to: Tools -> Internet Options -> Connections [tab] -> Lan Settings

(3) Under "Proxy Server" check the box to enable it.

(4) Set Address as: 127.0.0.1

(5) Change Port from "80" to "90" (if it is blank, insert 90)

(6 & 7) Press "OK" (twice)

(8) Press the Windows "Start Button" -> Run -> gpedit.msc

(9) You will now need to drill down through the following values...

User Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Internet Explorer -> "Disable the Connections page"

(10) Select "Enabled"

(11) Press "OK"

(12) Press "File -> Exit"

(13) Remember to change your account to "Limited Access" by using your other Administrator account

driftingintime
03-08-10, 12:49 PM
If your emphasis is keeping yourself off the internet, I might have a couple further suggestions.