View Full Version : Yahoo Under Attack


Andrew
06-15-04, 09:29 PM
Yahoo and several other have been under attack. http://sanfrancisco.bizjournals.com/sanfra...14/daily19.html and http://news.com.com/Blackout%20hits%20majo...bj=news.1038.20

Chat, messenger and other services have been affected.

jaimegerise
06-15-04, 09:58 PM
arg Big...I just clicked both of those links and both told me page not found arg..

Devilin
06-16-04, 02:15 PM
There nice page not found low :)
I must make one like that
Ohhh spybot. is up again :-) new servers

Andrew
06-16-04, 04:55 PM
Hrmm...both articles USED to be there. Oh well :p

addhil
06-17-04, 11:34 AM
Here's a link thats working

http://www.americandaily.com/article/1297

I don't know if this was the story you meant, I just did a search in Google news.

Andrew
06-17-04, 03:56 PM
Nope...totally different article, but thanks for that one...lol

Keppig
06-17-04, 04:09 PM
Would someone be a dear and let us know what the story was about? I use Yahoo and am concerned.

domo-kun
06-17-04, 04:42 PM
Nice timing. I'm tracking an eBay auction and I can't login to my Yahoo mail. Plus the moderators of a board I run can't YIM me in the event of a board breakdown.

Andrew
06-17-04, 09:26 PM
*DDoS attack targets Akamai
SearchSecurity.com
An attack on servers controlling Akamai's domain name service
affected Yahoo, Google, Microsoft, FedEx, Xerox, Apple and likely
others.

http://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/originalContent/0,289142,sid14_gci970478,00.html?track=NL-358&ad=485236

Penultimate
06-17-04, 10:53 PM
It wasn't really an attack on Yahoo. The attack was on Akamai which Yahoo, Google, etc. depend on. Probably should change the title of this thread. It is not accurate.

Andrew
06-18-04, 12:02 AM
Yes, you're correct. I initially posted this in response to inquiries I was fielding regarding Yahoo. Many don't know who Akamai is...

carm
10-04-04, 07:02 AM
I'm not exactly sure what you guys are talking about, but I do know that I can not log on to ADDFORUMS.COM from my home site. I can only get on from work. Does anyone know why, and how I could fix this problem. ??

mmcclure79
09-16-05, 10:49 AM
What Iwant to know is with as EASY as DNS is to set up, why are big companies like yahoo, google, microsoft and the like using someone elses DNS. WHy don't they just host their own darn DNS. I mean a monkey could (almost) set it up. I mean they obviously (probably) have Active Directory and AD needs DNS. Heck it'll even install it for you! It kills me how many websites and such could save tons of money by hosting their own DNS with as easy as it is to set up.

brianl
09-16-05, 09:50 PM
I want to know why neither Cox nor Comcast can run reliable DNS servers. It's not rocket science, yet both have had serious DNS outages, some lasting hours. (I have a theory that the Cox and Comcast DNS server adminstrators are part of the same social group and share strange and incorrect information about maintaining and operating a DNS server with each other. I've seen similar "groupthink" elsewhere)