View Full Version : Total Newbie - PTSD, ADD, INSOMNIA, FATIGUE, PERIMENOPAUSE....

Lightheart
04-11-10, 05:56 PM
Hello, I am not sure where to start as I am very new at this

I am almost 50 and only just discovered in the last few months that I am ADD and it has been a revelation...so much now makes sense...it is a relief but also brings regrets about how much of my life I may not have struggled had I known earlier.

anyway, I have been struggling most of my life with symptoms from PTSD, Depression, and over the last few years things have gotten worse with undiagnosed ADD, Insomnia, Fatigue, and approaching menopause. I also have osteoarthritis.

I recently had a breakdown and I am finally addressing many things and getting treatment/therapy.

I have always been extremely sensitive to medication and am also allergic to alcohol. My experience with meds in the past has mostly been with intolerable side effects. I can not tolerate many meds including SSRI's.

Out of desperation and with the discovery of my ADD, I have opened up to the possibility of trying meds again although very reluctantly.

I have also added and increased my supplements and am eating a very nutritious vegetarian diet, with no or very little sugar now.

anyway, I started taking generic WELLBUTRIN 100 SR about 3 months ago. I had terrible side effects and almost gave up on several occasions during the first 4 weeks. I did some fact finding and asked to switch to brand name Wellbutrin. It is like a totally different drug...no side effects at all since...in fact I don't even feel it at all...shouldn't I feel some effect?? I was on Wellbutrin brand 150 XL once a day for one month and then I upped dose to 150 XL twice a day for the last 2 weeks...still don't feel it and am wondering if it is effective?? to early to tell??

A couple of days ago I started Dexedrine IR and split the 5mg tablet in to quarters and take them about three times a day about 5 hours apart for a total of about 3.75 mg total a day.