View Full Version : please help with some advice/3year old

LoveSoCal06
04-11-10, 08:41 PM
hi im a mom of a 3 year old girl and i have adult adhd...she acts almost the exact same way as i did when i was little and im not sure sometimes if she might get older and develop some not so great habbits like i did starting school and all. i in no way want to start her on meds of anykind and just want to know what to watch out for and how to make her surroundings more comfortable for her so she gets less frustrated and how to make sure her father and i know how to act with her as far as disaplin and activities for her. any answers will be much appreciated. im new to adhd myself and i am on medication for it that helps but i dont want to put her on medication when shes older if we can help it. thanks!

Krys.
04-11-10, 11:26 PM
Well she's 3 so she's going to test limits and get frustrated when things don't work how she wants them to. It can be hard to distinguish ADHD from normal childhood behaviors at that age. You said "she acts almost the exact same way as i did when i was little " What sorts of things is she doing that have you concerned?

LoveSoCal06
04-11-10, 11:59 PM
well im not so concerned about now because i know she is 3 and a lot of her crazyness is normal right now. my mom tells me that shes a lot like me and so i kinda worry only about when shes older her having adhd also. so i guess my question would be more like what kind of things do you do differently with a young child with adhd than one without it? shes very very hyper right now more so than her friends and i always feel like im having to intertain her or shes doing something crazy, maybe thats normal for a 3 year old also but if she does end up getting it without putting her on meds what kind of structure do you have to have for them? im sorry its hard for me to explain my question basically im asking about the (maybe future) lol thanks!

michinyuja
04-12-10, 04:31 AM
Wow. What a good mommy!