View Full Version : Intel vs. AMD


Werl
05-26-10, 11:28 AM
I started this because I can see a heated debate just waiting to happen.

I am talking about the processors only.

I think that AMD tops Intel by a kilometer. AMD's 12 core tops Intel's 8 core processor. AMD also is much more more energy efficent.

If I wasn't stuck to mac, I'd be using AMD all the way.

Addr68
05-26-10, 12:33 PM
Nice!
Werl I have a mid grade gammer
That uses AMD Athlon ii x2 250 processor w3.00 ghz..back by a 700 PSU, it's not the 'best of the AMD's' but I think its beats intel parallel version
My 2 cents ;)

qinkin
06-11-10, 10:49 PM
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=2507

meridian
06-12-10, 12:20 AM
I used to be a bleeding edge guy always getting the latest thing, but these days I find that I get by just fine with my 5+ year old laptop and nearly 7 year old desktop.

In fact I resurrected my PowerMac G4 tower as a print server just the other day -- works great.

Werl
06-12-10, 12:22 AM
Wow:eek:.

qinkin
06-12-10, 11:34 AM
What strikes me, is that AMD is only really better regarding latency....BUT from my experience w/using Cricket 3G, wireless broadband....Which has over 100ms of latency...but the top speed of the total bandwith is a few hundred KBps more/Cricket 3G..

However 1MBps cable broadband is half the cost of that, and has around 4X's less latency.. Which is what makes it so much more responsive, dependable, etc..

Seems to be the case????

There must be a formula for clocking actual times, w/ factors in the latency, which greatly effects using the thing in real life scenarios..

EshkaronsEngine
06-12-10, 12:57 PM
Whatever happened to Motorola?

Werl
06-20-10, 12:34 AM
It wasn't keeping up with intel or AMD

EshkaronsEngine
06-20-10, 01:04 AM
I think they should settle it by making their computers play chess. AMD on one side and Intel on the other. Speed it up to as fast as they can operate. Then we'll see. Oh yes then we will see.

Werl
07-05-10, 05:51 PM
Intel will make decisions faster but, AMD will be able to calculate every possible move of Intel faster, so it would be a toss up, who would be better at chess.

ZiggyFry
09-06-10, 10:38 AM
I just recently built a computer for gaming and rendering images/animations.

My processor is an AMD Athlon II x4 620.

To be honest, the biggest factor was the price. This cpu was $100. Intel's equivalent was double that.

I've got her overclocked to 3 ghz. When you hit "render" (preferably with system monitor open to see all four cores shoot up to 100%), you'd better hold on to your seat!

Sorry intel, but AMD has stolen my heart.

Sin.Ziggy.

Werl
09-06-10, 11:32 PM
Another thing AMD has over intel is that AMD runs cooler (and use less energy).

qinkin
09-07-10, 10:19 AM
Good to know y'all.

Now, is overclocking a setting which tends to damage stuff, if left on? You just do that to test the limits?

AMD Athlon II x4 620

I just checked mine,
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz..

I set the HD Acoustics thing in the BIOS to "Performance".. Would that overclock the CPU? Applications tend to quicken their paces, w/this settting, I like it. T'is noticeably louder, on my PC, but I've noticed this setting doesn't effect my mother's PC's noise near as much.

(?)

ZiggyFry
09-07-10, 02:38 PM
Good to know y'all.

Now, is overclocking a setting which tends to damage stuff, if left on? You just do that to test the limits?



As long as you can keep cool enough and you don't set the voltage too high, your hardware should last long enough to become completely outdated.

I'm not sure what you're doing with yours, but it sounds like it might be a overclocking preset. My motherboard supports a "turbo button" so I could overclock my cpu by pressing a certain button.

To know if you are actually overclocking your cpu, you'll want to check the "clock speed" before and after selecting "performance".

Sin.Ziggy.

tipoo
01-02-11, 02:49 PM
I don't throw my loyalty to either company, whoever has a better product out at the time gets my money. I do tend to cheer for AMD though, its tough to be so competitive when your competitor is literally over 10x your size. But while its true that AMD's 12 core is at a lower price than some of Intel's quad cores, Intel's Instructions Per Clock are currently much higher, as in on a per-core basis Intel's current processors are faster. AMD sells you more cores for your money to overcome this, but most programs right now can't take full advantage of 4 cores, let alone 12. Only high end rendering/scientific/editing programs can do that right now.

And your wrong in saying that AMD has lower power consumption, the TDP (max) power draw is higher, but idle is lower and thats what matters more most of the time. Thats why i3/i5 laptops usually have better battery life than AMD's right now.


All that said, AMD's upcoming Fusion processors are almost certain to shake things up in a major way. Unlike the core i series which just puts a cheap integrated graphics chip on the same die as the processor, AMD's Fusion actually integrates the two chips into one, allowing them to use each others caches and execution units making both much much faster, much more power efficient, and with OpenCL can allow a programmer to take advantage of the graphics part for extremely high performance parallel computing, all on a single low power chip. They are dumping both CPU and GPU as names and calling it an APU, or accelerated processing unit, and should have them out sometime this year both on the high end and low end (atom competitor).




Yeah, so I totally just came out as a geek on this forum :D

tipoo
01-02-11, 02:51 PM
I set the HD Acoustics thing in the BIOS to "Performance".. Would that overclock the CPU?



No, not at all. It means the hard drive will be more aggressive in its seeking, making more noise but also being faster. Has nothing to do with the CPU or overclocking.

addkid92
01-15-11, 09:05 AM
AMD currently has a six core cpu, where as when I bring this up - I'm told that Intel is faster than the AMD cpu's. I'm wondering how that makes sense but oh well. I have a intel core duo overclocked, it does the job, but am thinking about switching to a AMD system in the near future.

tipoo
01-15-11, 10:27 AM
AMD currently has a six core cpu, where as when I bring this up - I'm told that Intel is faster than the AMD cpu's. I'm wondering how that makes sense but oh well. I have a intel core duo overclocked, it does the job, but am thinking about switching to a AMD system in the near future.


On a per-core basis, Intel is faster. ie, if your just using one core, Intel would be faster. However if your using all six cores on AMD vs all 4 cores on Intel, AMD would be faster. Not all cores are equal, there is complex architecture behind each one.