View Full Version : Eyesight and ADHD meds

Marspider
06-04-10, 10:22 AM
I now have to wear glasses for computer work and studying for long periods.

I had a whole bunch of eye tests I have never had before, I normally get the can you see the E or C or whatever? which I can, and have good eyesight in general but my educational psychologist assessment mentioned I could have visual stress and should get my eyes checked out which I did. I sometimes see flashes of white on pages when I'm reading.

I'm very surprised and the thought of wearing glasses has almost depressed me more than when I was diagnosed with ADHD.

But at least it's just for computers and reading, and that will make sense because I studied computer science, worked in call centres for 10 years, and I'm always on the computer.

What was also mentioned in the test is that Bupropion and methylphenidate overdilate the pupils. That I was not aware of and must have skipped over when reading the side effects, I generally panic over the cardiac bits...

Lately, I've been having difficulty with glare especially at night and I often feel I have a film that is interfering with my vision. And my eyes have become more sensitive to light so I wear sunglasses constantly even when it's cloudy. I did get sick of getting red eyes all the time.

If it improves my headaches when reading, that will be good because it's not enough that I have to battle with boredom, mental oppositional defiance, lack of focus, lack of concentration but when I do manage to suppress them, I get headaches after reading.

So anyone has experience of eyesight changes with methylphenidate, bupropion or anything else?

TygerSan
06-04-10, 05:26 PM