View Full Version : Anyone else have sleep problems like me?

coyfish
06-16-10, 12:50 AM
So im a 1st year med student who has just started taking vyvanse as of 6 weeks ago. One of the things that pushed me to pursue medication was my trouble sleeping. Not that a stimulant will help, but just the realization of how hyped my brain is all the time. I wake up at 7AM and go to bed at 12. I am an avid weightlifter and I also love tennis. Whenever I can I exercise. Despite all this I have lots of difficulty sleeping. I am a VERY light sleeper. My cat digging litter in the laundry room across my apartment wakes me up as does basically any distinct noise. The main problem is falling asleep though. It takes me over an hour to fall asleep . . . often times 2-3. Sometimes I never really fall asleep and I just drone in and out all night. In the morning I feel fine but it's just frustrating dealing with the issue every night. Not getting that quality REM sleep most definitely has its consequences though. Maybe even many of my concentration issues.

I can't "shut off." My head keeps jumping / thinking about all sorts of crap. Anyone else struggle / have advise ?

M3zus
06-16-10, 03:05 AM
I am in almost the exact same situation as you, except for the cat part.
Just done with 1st year med school, started vyvanse 1 month ago, can't turn my head off to go to sleep.
Once I go to sleep I usually don't wake up, though.

behindasusual
06-16-10, 05:02 AM
Funny stumbling across this right now. It's currently almost 5 in the morning where I am. I got into bed at 1. Before bed I drank hot non-caffeinated tea, stretched, laid in bed and read a book... Made sure to turn every single light off so my room was pitch black, and then attempted a "yoga for sleep" pose for ten or so minutes that was supposed to help me relax and fall asleep. As you can tell, that worked wonderfully for me.