View Full Version : Sleeping: better or worse on medication?

Emso
08-07-10, 02:51 PM
Hi there, I had an assessment a few weeks ago by a doctor who diagnosed me as ADD. I'm meeting with her in six week's time to talk about what paths I might want to take. I do want occupational therapy to help with the problems, but would also like to try medication. However, my doctor has said that medication may not be a good solution because it will exacerbate my sleeping problems. I really want to know what the experiences of others are with regards to medication and sleeping.

I don't have any diagnosis for my sleeping problems, and am not currently taking anything to deal with it. Typically I sleep odd hours and usually a little more than others. I have extreme difficulties maintaining any kind of sleep pattern. At the moment I am a student and so can work whenever and however I please, thus making both sleep and ADD problems I can work around. I would like to solve them both and be able to work/have a normal life in the future, but know that solving one while worsening the other would not help achieve that.

So, how have other people found their sleep has changed once they've begun taking ADD medication? Has it become better or worse, or stayed the same?

For information, my doctor will probably prescribe Ritalin.

Thanks

Imnapl
08-07-10, 04:21 PM
Has your doctor suggested a visit to a sleep clinic? I sleep better on medication, but I spent years fine-tuning my sleep hygiene before I started medication. I can see why your doctor might be reluctant to prescribe medication until you develop a more regular sleep pattern. Sleep patterns can be changed, but some people need professional help to do it.

Emso
08-07-10, 06:01 PM