View Full Version : Vocabulary Improvement For A Visual Learner

Whitestar
07-27-04, 11:01 PM
Hello.

I am an aspiring writer with one big problem. When I was seven I began reading some books because my mom was quite an avid reader. She pushed me into it and I began to like it. However, I found watching television to be easier than reading. Although I had no problems in spelling or reading orally, I always had a reading comprehension problem. Furthermore, I had a very poor vocabulary. As a result, I began watching A LOT of television.

By the time I was in high school, I learned that I had a learning disability and a visual learner (that would explain why I watched a lot of TV). By age 28 I began reading more and more. Now at age 30, I am determined to become a writer. My comprehension has improved tremendously, however, I still have a problem with learning how to improve my vocabulary. What methods must a visual learner like myself use for improving my vocabulary?

Whitestar

paulbf
07-28-04, 02:02 AM
Welcome!
Have you ever tried just browsing a dictionary? It can be fun. Good for a short attention span.

sneekkers
08-05-04, 10:35 AM
hey,

try to get on a listserv for a word a day...
there are a few but i belng to one that is great...
i get the word, its meaning, its orgin and a sentence with the word being used, usually from a newspaper article...
an no spam or ads...

also do crosswords, word searches and play scrabble-make it fun!

:cool: sneekkers:cool:

Ron Horton
01-03-08, 07:14 AM
According to my view you had a bad habit of watching TV at young age. That's what i feel you might be lagging in vocabulary and sentence formation. So i suggest you to browse some dictionaries and go through some editorials where you can increase your vocal ability instead of watching TV. vocabulary-vocabular .com

Tiddlywinks
01-03-08, 10:27 PM