View Full Version : I think I have ADD; seeking others with similar problems.

Aldrick
12-05-10, 02:49 PM
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on the forum; I just discovered it a couple hours ago. I hope this is the right place to make this post, if not I apologize.

I'm seeking others who have similar problems to myself... but first, let me give some back story as to why I think I might have ADD.

Someone mentioned to my sister that my nephew might have ADD because he was having trouble keeping his focus. It was an off-handed comment, but the truth of the matter is my nephew suffers from exactly the same problems I suffered from at his age and throughout my life - right up until present day. This got me thinking about myself, and led me to do some research into ADD - to my surprise I actually have a whole host of symptoms - and a lot of things that I thought were completely unrelated suddenly started to make sense. What's more I've learned that ADD may have a genetic component which means that if I have it, there could be an increased risk of my nephew having it as well.

Now, I could go to the doctor, and I plan to do that, but I'm not exactly sure what to say. What's more is that I don't have medical insurance, so just making an arbitrary trip to the doctor isn't really feasible unless there is a good chance that I have it. As a result, I've decided to post here to share my story in hopes that I find others who can identify with my problems.

Ever since I was a child I've had trouble keeping my attention focused on things unless I was really interested in them. ...and I mean -REALLY- interested. If I was just mildly interested my mind would wander. When it came to schooling I struggled. I was always near the last, if not the last, person to turn their work in - assuming, of course, that I didn't have to take it home to complete it.