View Full Version : Good way to ask doctor for increased dosage?

Collegestudent4
12-20-10, 03:20 PM
Hi all , new to the forums here, I am currently taking 30 mg of vyvanse for ADHD and it was fine in the beginner but now Im noticing that its wearing off halfway through my day, it will be working through my classes but when it gets past about 7 hours after taking the meds they stop working and I need it to still be working for when Im studying/doing homework in college. A friend of mine who also has ADHD takes a 70mg vyvanse in the morning and a 30 mg vyvanse when that starts to wear off later in the afternoon, she also has a 10 mg Adderall IR that she takes if she needs an extra kick, Im just wondering what a good way to ask my doctor for something like that might be. I know the meds are wearing off and after hearing how shes doing with her current set up I am wanting to get something like that to try out. I dont want to just flat out ask my doctor "Hey i know someone with blah blah blah can you prescribe me it" because I dont want it to seem like drug seeking behavior I really need a higher dose to be able to focus on anything and just dont know a good way of asking.

jjwalters
12-20-10, 09:52 PM
Just tell the Dr. what you just told us, except for the parts about your friends. A good Dr. should recognize the need for a second dose later in the day.

You can also try to eat more, smaller meals; always with some type of protein, that's helped me immensely.

I typically take 60mg vyvanse around 7am, eat at 8am, split lunch into two meals at 11am and 2pm, take a second 60mg around 12, have some kind of protein (nuts, snack bar) around 4 - 4:30 pm, and then dinner around 7.

anonymouslyadd
12-20-10, 10:08 PM
Im noticing that its wearing off halfway through my day, it will be working through my classes but when it gets past about 7 hours after taking the meds they stop working and I need it to still be working for when Im studying/doing homework in college