View Full Version : 5-htp treatment for depression

addkid92
01-29-11, 01:31 AM
Hi,

Just wanted to create a thread to inform everyone who's currently battling depression about 5-htp.

I'm on day 5 of this stuff, and, I can honestly tell you - day 3 I was laughing while watching a comedy on youtube, 2 things I never do; laugh & watch comedy shows.

I haven't gone too far into this trial to determine whether what I'm feeling is placebo or not, but, I can tell you today (* day 5 *) - I was able to function in society without having an anxiety attack, and, seemed more comfortable in social situations.

I'm taking 100mg 1x daily, I bought a bottle at wal-greens for $15, but, you can certainly find it cheaper with more pills for less online.

I've been battling depression for almost 6 years, I've tried various SSRI's and they've all left my mind clouded and confused. I wouldn't create this thread if I didn't see some potential in this supplement.

If you have nothing left to lose - there must be something to gain right? Give it a try, tell me how it goes for you. You should see benefit within 3days to 2 weeks (* max *).

That's all I have for now. I'll be sure to follow up and report my progress.

nova2012
01-29-11, 01:49 AM
Glad you've noticed some positive results already! That's great.

I tried a combination of 5-htp and St. John's Wort, back when I knew nothing, and I promptly stopped because it gave me crazy dreams. Ironically, the Wellbutrin I'm now on gives me insane and pretty vivid dreams, too, but I'm sticking with it.

Before this, I was taking a special formulation of SJW called Perika, which is a standardized extract with hyperforin, and it's the formulation that all the clinical trials use. I didn't notice much in the way of benefits... maybe a slight mood lift, but very slight.

Anyway, hope the 5-htp continues working for you.

addkid92
01-29-11, 03:10 AM
Hi Nova,