View Full Version : Art Class for Autistic Teens

Turbochica
02-13-11, 03:09 PM
I am currently employed at a Residential Facility to care for non verbal autistic boys. Recently I was asked to run the art class, I have a degree in Graphic Design, and experience with creating andworking with kids of all ages on art projects. I am very excited about this class for two reasons:

1. I get to inspire these kids to create and have fun

2. I get to be a kid again and do the same :)

I am in the process of finding ideas for projects. I have found some and it's inspiring me. I am so excited about this opportunity. :)

julesjampot
02-13-11, 03:49 PM
Oh Turbochica sounds wonderful ,wish i could help. I work with children of all abilities and they all get so much out of being creative.
My daughter who's on the autistic spectrum loves paint but doesn't like getting messy! Enjoy !! :D

eggyolkes
02-13-11, 03:53 PM
I am a special education major and work at a place that serves individuals with disabilities. Needless to say, its my life, and I lovvee it!!

fracturedstory
02-13-11, 06:29 PM
Oh Turbochica sounds wonderful ,wish i could help. I work with children of all abilities and they all get so much out of being creative.
My daughter who's on the autistic spectrum loves paint but doesn't like getting messy! Enjoy !! :D
I hate getting messy too. Art is very messy.

sarek
02-13-11, 06:44 PM
I think fracturedstory and julesjamport may have a point. But there are certainly many ways of working with art that will not get them messy.

I think its an amazing idea. This will be very beneficial to them.

Turbochica
02-13-11, 08:51 PM
Thanks for the comments. Yes, we might have kids that don't want to get messy but that will probably where the staff steps in and helps by helping doing the messy stuff. Thanks for those comments too, I will be talking with the person who was running this class and will make sure I ask this question about the students amongst other questions I have.