ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > Blogs > PosterOfaGirl21
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Rate this Entry

Girlfriend who has a newly diagnosed ADD boyfriend

Posted 11-10-08 at 07:51 PM by PosterOfaGirl21
Well,hello World. I'm kinda new to this whole thing.I don't have ADD or ADHD myself,but I am in a relationship w/my boyfriend who was just diagnosed.He should have been diagnosed and put on medicine when he was younger,but his parents didn't want to because they didn't like the side effects or so.So now that he's in college,things have been oh so crazy for him in trying to focus on school,work,and life,and also our relationship.It's been a lot of ups and down---definitely a lot of downs.We've been together for a year.Things can be really frustrating with him and I am trying to help him through this.I know he's going through a lot,but I don't know sometimes. I want this relationship to work b/c I love him, I just don't know how/if we'll get through it sometimes.I feel as if I am constantly "nagging" but I am just reminding him of things he forgets to do,we get into lots of arguments where he gets overwhelmed and I end up exploding on him.It's just a lot.So I figured I'd come on here to see if maybe there were other people who could help me/us. I've never dealt with this before and definitely want to stick through this relationship.Some days are just harder than others....I just feel alone in dealing with this/us because I know he doens't mean to do the things he does and I hate the fact that I get impatient and then we get into arguments and then it's just a cycle. anyway,I guess I'll see.
later