ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > Blogs > Song of Mercy
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Rate this Entry

Blessed are the meek for they will inherit the earth part 2

Posted 05-16-09 at 05:53 PM by Song of Mercy
I had fun learning about the second half of this verse. Though I said in my preceding blog we were only going to cover the word inherit, as I studied I decided that it would be best to include the final phrase ‘the earth’ as well.

So to begin, let’s talk about the first phrase ‘they will inherit.’ The most important thing to consider in this phrase is the speaker and audience frame of reference. Jesus and His followers had heard this phrase many times. It is from the Old Testament and means to partake of eternal salvation in the Messiah’s kingdom. It was commonly associated with the idea that when the Messiah arrived he would be a conqueror of the land and would establish peace for eternity for the children of God.

As the idea of conquest of the land is already implied in this verse, to inherit would comprise the concept of the earth as an inheritance that is from the Messiah. However, it does not narrow down the many uses of the next phrase ‘the earth.’