ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community

ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community (http://www.addforums.com/forums/index.php)
-   Men with ADD/ADHD (http://www.addforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   How do I know if my issues are ADHD or psychological related? (http://www.addforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=188945)

perchick 11-14-17 11:12 AM

How do I know if my issues are ADHD or psychological related?

Hey all, nice to me you, im new here :)

The fact that I can talk to awesome people like me is such a relief

Im kinda new at this even though I know I have ADHD for 14 years (im 29). I had some deep issues with this so I never questioned what people told me as a child about ADHD. Im dealing with it now and I have so many questions that are popping into my head.

The thing is, I can't tell anymore if my issues are due to ADHD or because of some other issues because I was diagnosed late or just bad habits that I have.
When you have a bad habit and a grown up tells you its your ADHD you kinda accept that this is the way you work. grown ups sucks!

maybe you could help me understand better, I NEED to know. this is bugging me so much.

1. I know getting started with a task is hard but I have real issues once I started to stay focus. this goes around 10-15 minutes and then Im getting into a task and then I can continue

2. If Im researching something (I work as a programmer, i have a lot of that) I can only do it for an hour or two before I feel overwhelmed and need of a break that very often turns into procrastination (even if its interesting). is that normal for ADHD? I thought that this is just some psychological issue, how can I need a break after each hour? this makes no sence