ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Dexedrine/Dextrostat
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Dexedrine/Dextrostat (dextroamphetamine)

Old 05-16-12, 09:26 PM
Jr Member

Aphexx is on a distinguished road
Arrow [Journal] Slowing Amphetamine Tolerance w/ Magnesium!

As many of you know, magnesium has mild NMDA antagonist properties--in other words, it can (in theory) be used to hinder (and in some reported cases, reverse) amphetamine tolerance. This applies to both Adderall and Dexedrine. Keep in mind I am not a medical doctor, so take everything with a grain of salt. For more information regarding the technical side of this topic, a simple Google search will do wonders. Also, see the below spoiler.

Taken from a previous Blue Light thread:

Quote:
Amphetamine tolerance is caused by excess Ca++ influx through the NMDA receptor gated calcium channels on the outer membranes of the dopamine cells bodies in the ventral tegental area, one of two areas in the brain with concentrations of dopamine producing neurons.
As alluded to above, taking an appropriate NMDA* (partial) antagonist will prevent the development of a tolerance for the effects of an amphetamine or amphetamine-like stimulant. Also, by preventing excess Ca++ influx into the neuron, an NMDA antagonist will prevent associated brain alterations and damage (excitotoxicity).