ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Vyvanse
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Vyvanse (lisdexamfetamine dimesylate)

Old 01-09-14, 04:13 PM

ShhImSleeping is on a distinguished road
Just visited doc - experienced vyvanse users opinions needed

So I just met with my doc, and I'm wondering if I should maybe look for a different doc, I'm losing faith in her decision making.

Quick background:
I was diagnosed with ADD two months ago by a psychiatrist in an office she claims is known for adhd treatment. She gave me three options, stimulants, strattera, or wellbutrin. I told her since this is my first time for any meds other than for sinus stuff, I wanted to go with one that has been around awhile, so she suggested wellbutrin or ritalin. I went with generic ritalin as Wellbutrin wasn't made for add, and from all the reading I've done of users comments, doesn't help much for it alone on it's on, more for depression.

First month I was worked up to 15mg generic ritalin 2x daily. Didn't do much of anything, just awake but really calm (I'm not hyperactive, most I do is fidget in my seat a lot), I'd sit still more, but it did almost nothing cognitive wise. During that month I did a lot of reading, and read vyvanse was a good long acting dex pill (once converted in the body), absorption rate seemed great and consistent, smooth up and down, and dex supposedly helps body with cognitive stuff. So I asked her about it, well, that tickled her pink, her office loves vyvanse (probably more for the less chance of addiction part) and happily wrote me a perscription.