ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Careers/Job Impact
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Careers/Job Impact This forum is for adults to discuss how AD/HD affects work and career.

Old 04-08-13, 02:29 PM
Contributor

Bazinga has a spectacular aura aboutBazinga has a spectacular aura about
How do you handle constant change?

I work in the healthcare industry. Recently the relatively small company I work for was bought out and has merged with the largest company in our specialized part of the healthcare world. It has been a very slow, agonizing process to endure. Anyway, as a result of the merger, constant change has become a regular part of my work day. One day I'm assigned a new set of responsibilities, but I never know how long it will last before I'm changed to something else; it could be a month or it could be a few hours.

In the beginning of the merger process, changes were few and far between and took an act of God to go through the approval process. Since the beginning of the year, though, it feels like they can't go more than a week or two without making some kind of change and it's REALLY beginning to wear on my nerves.

I have noticed that the more things change the more I feel an uncontrollable desire to be completely inflexible, as a form of protest. Typically I just try to focus on what I am responsible for, mind my own business, and do my job; eventually the desire passes and I am able to accept my "fate" & move on.

When I was a young stupid kid, I would have simply thrown my hands up, packed my stuff, and walked out the door without a second thought or having other employment prospects "on deck". However, now I have a family to provide for, so it's not like I can just up and quit my job.