ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adults with ADD > Inattentive ADD
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Inattentive ADD A forum set aside for the the discussion of inattention and inattentive ADD

Old 05-28-09, 10:24 PM

carissa_lee will become famous soon enough
Cool Tips for the newly diagnosed, increasing work performance?

I'm new to my diagnosis, and while I'm very happy with the "relief", or help, the medications provide me, it seems that old habits still die hard.

Before my diagnosis, I had trouble with concentrating at work on any project so I would end up migrating towards things that COULD hold my attention. Surfing the internet was a big one.

Now that I feel I've found the right medication for me, I have been accomplishing more at work. But not enough, in my opinion. I still find myself migrating to the internet during any break I end up having at work, and once I'm entertained it seems that time flies for me. An hour or two will go by before I've realized I didn't complete project A, or I was supposed to have project B finished 5 minutes ago.

Any tips to break my old habit? Anything anyone else has found to help keep them on task at work? I've been completing a LOT more at work daily, and I'm satisfied with my progress, but I feel like I've hit a plateau in a sense. I can't seem to come up with any ideas to help me keep on track, to keep me organized and performing at a level I believe I'm capable of. Its almost like I get there, will stay there for a little while, then lose my focus somehow and just jump to playing online because that's what I've always done in the past.