ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Diagnosis & Treatment
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Diagnosis & Treatment This forum is for the discussion of issues related to the diagnosis of AD/HD

Old 04-21-10, 11:24 AM
ADDvanced Member

Musiscience is on a distinguished road
Question A question about medication

I have a question concerning medication.

Lately I have stopped to take my medication thinking that it would help with my anxiety and depression, because I was really going down to hell because of them and became suicidal. I stopped taking my medication in november. What was surprising is that my grades did not drop even if I studied and did my final exams (university, in pharmaceutical sciences) without the medication. This let me think that I should take some time for myself and drop for a semester to cure my depression and anxiety, and continue without medication.

I was wrong. I failed. The depression and anxiety were less severe, but still there, but the confusion and mind race was unbearable, like I could not control my own mind. So I took a pill today and I feel incredibly at peace, but I know that in the long term it will go back to severe depression and anxiety. (The medication is concerta)

So I was wondering, has anyone tryed a medication that was not so hard on the depression/anxiety? Because I have an appointment with a psychiatrist in 2 weeks and I want to give him a suggestion or two. I heard about stratera and other medication, but real experiences with a medication are sometime different than what we learn in the books, which is why I would want your opinions and experiences with different medications.

This would probably help me get a medication that is more suitable for my case.