ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Education
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Education This forum is to discuss issues related to ADD and higher education.

Old 11-19-09, 04:02 AM

ryanbg is on a distinguished road
College student with some concerns

Hi everyone!
I am new to the forums. I am currently a college student at the University of North Dakota. I have been having problems ever since High School with concentrating on school work. I was diagnosed with ADD in 9th grade (about 5 years ago) and was on Adderall for a semester. It really helped with my grades, but at the end of the year I stopped taking it because I lost a lot of weight, and it made me feel like I was in a dream-like trance. I barely made it through High School, although I consider myself a bright person! I have been trying to eat healthy, get enough sleep, and be active, but I am coming to the conclusion that I need to treat my ADD once again. It's impossible for me to be motivated to do anything that doesn't interest me, it's impossible for me to sit down and do homework, my mind is racing all the time, and I can't pay attention in class. Life is very difficult academically for me. I was wondering if anyone has had a decent amount of success with medication in college and any helpful tips they could lend me. Another question, being 5 hours away from home, who would I go to these days for my concerns with my ADD?
Thanks!
Ryan
Old 11-19-09, 02:26 PM
ADDvanced Member

Henri J has a spectacular aura aboutHenri J has a spectacular aura about
Re: College student with some concerns

Hwy Ryan,