ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Careers/Job Impact
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Careers/Job Impact This forum is for adults to discuss how AD/HD affects work and career.

Old 05-12-15, 10:54 AM

Infp86 is on a distinguished road
Red face How do I move forward?

I need some people to chime in here, there have got to be guys in my situation, or who have at least been there.

I'm 29 and my life is a mess. I've been diagnosed with inattentive ADD and generalized anxiety disorder for 10 years now. Since graduating high school I have never been able to make it as far as a career goes. I did not go to college, my parents divorced the year I graduated due to my father developing a drug addiction and I think the idea of more school was just to much to consider, since high school had almost been impossible.

Since that point I have just drifted from job to job, usually at about 1 year intervals, continuously being fired for "careless" errors and forgetfulness. This has literally plagued my life as I want nothing more than to just be able to make it somewhere. No matter what system I try to develop for myself, these issues slip through. I have always been medicated, and have tried almost every ADHD medicine and anti-depressant under the sun. Currently I am on a Effexor and Vyvanse and it seems to help the most, although is almost not affordable. Most stimulant medicines cause me to crash so bad I am unable to function and only last about 2 hours when in effect.