ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > General Medication Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

General Medication Discussion This section is to be used for general medication discussion and other medications not broken out in their own respective forums.

Old 05-26-05, 03:24 PM

Titanica is on a distinguished road
Question If you take meds, how do you explain/defend this decision to others?

I will be seeing a psych in about 2 weeks to discuss the possibility of me having ADD. The more I read, the more convinced I am this is me!

Anyway, I am not opposed to meds, understanding the basics of brain chemistry and all (I have a psych degree and my husband has depression and generalized anxiety disorder). I know some don't take them and that is totally cool if it works for them.

But every person I have discussed this with is like "meds are not the way to go" and "there are other ways of controlling ADD without meds." and they don't know a thing about ADD! Or they tell me only part of what a doc said on TV and I research it and find out they left out the statments by the doctor about how taking meds in conjuction with exercise/nutrition is a beneficial approach.

I am not thinking the meds will be the end all/be all of my ADD but I am anticipating that they may possibly help in a significant way.

but with everyone jumping on me (my husband supports meds as part of my approach)..how do you explain to people that medication is a valid and legitimate approach to treating ADD?

Does anyone else feel like they have to defend themselves when they say they take meds?
Old 05-26-05, 04:05 PM
ADDvanced Forum ADDvocate

scuro has disabled reputation