ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Diagnosis & Treatment
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Diagnosis & Treatment This forum is for the discussion of issues related to the diagnosis of AD/HD

Old 01-06-08, 09:50 PM

Bashi is on a distinguished road
Somebody else who thinks they have ADHD

Hello, I'm a 19 year old student in his second at university. For the last two years, I've been suffering from depression and anxiety (I've always been slightly shy at times, but it has gone from shyness to something far more noticeable). I'm an incredibly proud person, and the idea I have a "mental disorder" or "mental illness" is disturbing to me at the least. I'm the sort of person that doesn't ask for help when he needs it, I try to sort my own problems out. I tried many things to help me recover from this depression and anxiety, but nothing has seemed to work. At first, I thought that my depression and anxiety might be a confidence issue; I've always considered myself a confident person, but perhaps really I had a hidden insecurity? I tried changing my image and being more sociable, but I noticed this never helped - life just seemed more awkward. The next thing I tried was changing my diet, making sure I got all the proper nutrients and having only healthy meals. I practically removed all processed foods from my diet, eating only freshly prepared meals and taking measures such as eating fish twice a week. Did I feel any better? No. Exercise! Perhaps getting more exercise done would help my brain sort itself out? The only noticeable results were that I lost weight, and was slightly healthier from the exercise and change in diet. But my depression and anxiety seemed to be getting WORSE; I think this could be because I was