ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adults with ADD > General ADD Talk
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 12-30-12, 01:04 PM

Catdog is a splendid one to beholdCatdog is a splendid one to beholdCatdog is a splendid one to beholdCatdog is a splendid one to beholdCatdog is a splendid one to beholdCatdog is a splendid one to beholdCatdog is a splendid one to behold
Internal Restlessness and Hyperactivity

Greetings!

I'm still an ADHD newb, so I was wondering if you more experienced folks could help me with a question I have concerning ADHD-PI/SCT.

I've always figured that I am not the least bit "hyperactive," but I've discovered hyperactivity doesn't always manifest in the stereotypical way (climbing the walls, ect.).

I've always suffered from an "internal restlessness," meaning that I'm easily bored, eternally daydreaming, and always in search of mental stimulation. For example, I find things like reading and/or writing about topics I find interesting and playing videogames "stimulating," which is probably because they both require a certain amount of mental interaction. In contrast, sitting through movies/television shows is too passive, and I usually have to watch a movie three times before I actually "get it" because I'm either surfing the net while watching, or stimming/engaging in stereotypies, meaning I only catch bits and pieces of the plot. While on the internet, I typically have three or four tabs open.