ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > PARENTS OF CHILDREN WITH ADD/ADHD > General Parenting Issues
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

General Parenting Issues The purpose of this forum is to discuss general parenting issues related to children with AD/HD(ADD & ADHD)

Old 10-16-13, 02:55 PM

Kayleea88 is on a distinguished road
How do you handle other parents?

I'm quite new to the whole adhd thing, but I'm finding that peoples' opinions on the subject are quite strong and varied. How do you handle people who say its a made up disease? What about people who say the child just needs more discipline. I've actually heard one mom say that her ds just needs a few good *** whoopings. I feel so bad for that poor child not getting the help he needs. What do you say when people tell you medication is like crack or whatever they say. I know it's not anyone's business how I raise my child and I should probably just tell them that, but I have an awful time biting my tongue. Lol. I look forward to hearing your replies. Thanks!! (sorry of this has been discussed before, I'm new to the board. )
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Kayleea88 For This Useful Post:
mctavish23 (10-17-13), someothertime (10-17-13), Stevuke79 (10-16-13), Tmoney (10-17-13)
Old 10-16-13, 04:32 PM
ADDvanced Forum ADDvocate

Thanked 6,114 Times in 2,794 Posts